COUNCIL MEETING – 8 MARCH 2022

POLITICAL COMPOSITION OF THE COUNCIL AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS ON COMMITTEES TO POLITICAL GROUPS

1.0 Purpose of Report

1.1 Following the recent by-election held on 17 February 2022, to inform the Council of the political composition of the Council and to consider proposals for the allocation of seats on Committees to Political Groups, as required by Council Procedure Rule No. 17.6.

2.0 Background Information

- 2.1 Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the Council to consider the political composition of the Council. The Act, together with Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, require local authorities to allocate seats on Committees of a local authority on a proportional basis, in accordance with the number of seats on the Council held by each political group.
- 2.2 As Members will recall the allocation of seats to Committees was last considered at the Meeting held on 12 December 2021, following the Rainworth South and Blidworth by-election. The allocation of seats requires a further review at this meeting following the District Ward by-election for the Collingham Ward held on 17 February 2022.
- 2.3 The result of the by-election was as follows:

Phil Barron (Liberal Democrats)	594 votes
Emma Davis (Conservative)	982 votes
Matthew Spoors (Labour)	168 votes

3.0 Present Position

3.1 As a result, the seats held by each Group on the Council are as follows:-

	No. of Seats
Conservative	30
Labour	6
Liberal Democrats	2
Independent	1

- 3.2 Under the committee style of governance all Committees are required to reflect the political balance. Based on the existing committee structure there are a total of 102 seats on Committees which must comply with political balance rules.
- 3.3 The Constitution provides that the following Committees be appointed:-

<u>Committee</u>	No. of Members
Policy & Finance	7
Homes & Communities	12
Leisure & Environment	12
Economic Development	12

Planning	15
Licensing	15
General Purposes	15
Audit & Accounts	6
Shareholder	5
Gilstrap	5
Mansfield & District Crematorium Joint Committee	3

Based on the existing Committee structure the following calculation can be made:-

a) No of seats on Council = 39

% of total seats held by each Group (rounded) =

	%
Conservative	76.92
Labour	15.39
Liberal Democrats	5.13
Independent	2.56
	100%

b) There are 107 seats on Committees. The allocation of seats to each Group on these Committees would be:-

			<u>Rounded</u>
Conservative	107 x 76.92%	82.30	82
Labour	107 x 15.39%	16.46	16
Liberal Democrats	107 x 5.13%	5.49	6
Independent	107 x 2.56%	2.74	3
			107

c) The number of seats allocated on Committees to each Political Group is as follows:

Conservative	82
Labour	16
Liberal Democrats	6
Independent	3

The impact of the change in composition is that the Conservative Group have two more seats and the Liberal Democrats one, across all committees.

- 3.4 The proposed allocation of seats on Committees to each political group is set out in the matrix which is attached as **Appendix A** to the report.
- 3.5 Given Councillor Mrs Dobson had previously chosen not to take her seat on the Licensing and General Purposes Committees and these were taken by the Conservative Group, the only change required in actual memberships on committees is for the Liberal Democrat Group to make one appointment on to the Economic Development Committee.

4.0 **RECOMMENDATIONS** that:

- (a) the Council agree the allocation of seats to Political Groups in accordance with Appendix A to the report; and
- (b) changes be made in Committee memberships as advised at the meeting.

Background Papers

Nil.

For further information please contact Nigel Hill on 01636 655243.

John Robinson Chief Executive